Blackfin Sky

Breaker

​​​​

Lola Nox is the daughter of a celebrated horror filmmaker - she thinks nothing can scare her. But when her father is brutally attacked in their New York apartment, she's swiftly packed off to live with a grandmother she's never met in Harrow Lake, the eerie town where her father's most iconic horror movie was shot.

The locals are weirdly obsessed with the film that put their town on the map - and there are strange disappearances, which the police seem determined to explain away.

And there's someone - or something - stalking Lola's every move.

The more she discovers about the town, the more terrifying it becomes. Because Lola's got secrets of her own. And if she can't find a way out of Harrow Lake, they might just be the death of her...


Harrow Lake is available now. Published by Penguin Random House. 


Reviews


​"Harrow Lake is a captivating and creeping mystery full of brilliantly twisting turns and dark secrets. You'll hear Mister Jitters in the deadly whisper of the pages as you race through this chilling, thrilling book." - Holly Jackson, bestselling author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
 
"Harrow Lake is a book that's hard to put down. Scary, suspenseful and deliciously twisty." - Fiona Noble
 
"Atmospheric and beautifully written, Harrow Lake is a five-star must-read." - Sarah J. Harris, author of The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder
 
"Scream meets The Babadook in small-town USA. This book made my retro-horror-loving heart sing." - Kirsty Logan, award-winning author of The Gracekeepers

"If you like Stephen King, you'd be mad not to snap this up." - Cass Green, Sunday Times top 10 bestselling author of In a Cottage In a Wood

"A taut, twisting and terrifying read that takes no prisoners as it carves and claws its way into your nightmares." - Melinda Salisbury, author of Hold Back the Tide

"A chilling read that had me looking over my shoulder and holding my breath." - Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

"Harrow Lake is scary, but also hugely fun . . . the claustrophobic Harrow Lake itself seems a fully realized world, a character in itself." - The Bookseller

"Deliciously creepy." - Amy McCulloch, author of Jinxed
 
"Ellis brings the claustrophobia of pulp fandom front and centre in this masterpiece of a novel." - Dawn Kurtagich, author of The Dead House


“Atmospheric and chilling.” –Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species


“You’re going to want to read this one with all the lights on.” –Cat Winters, author of In the Shadow of Blackbirds


"When you start Harrow Lake, be prepared to put everything else on hold." - Ann Dávila Cardinal, author of Five Midnights and Category Five


​“Bound to give you jittery nightmares–when you can finally fall asleep.” – Emma Berquist, author of Devils Unto Dust


“A thrilling mindbender.” —BCCB


“A sinister story that slowly builds to a heart-pounding climax.” —Kirkus

Trigger warnings: Elements of horror including: body horror relating to teeth; references to child abuse; domestic violence; undiagnosed mental health issues; references to cannibalism.

Purge

From its creepy town mascot to the story of its cursed waterfall, Burden Falls is a small town dripping with superstition. Ava Thorn knows this well - since the horrific accident she witnessed a year ago, she's been plagued by nightmares.

But when her school nemesis is brutally murdered and Ava is the primary suspect, she starts to wonder if the legends surrounding the town are more fact than fiction.

Whatever secrets Burden Falls is hiding, there's a killer on the loose, and they have a vendetta against the Thorns...


Reviews


'Reads like a horror blockbuster in the best way possible.' - PopSugar


'Superb.' - BCCB

'A great scary story with an even mix of heart and blood.' - SLJ


'Gritty...Spine-tingling...Twisty.' - Kirkus


'Cinematic, clever, and creepy... Burden Falls ticks off all my moody thriller boxes." - Goldy Moldavsky, author of The Last Girl


'Riverdale meets The Haunting of Hill House' - Amy McCaw, author of Mina and the Undead

'Kat Ellis wields an oppressive atmosphere like a sharply honed blade' - Sera Milano, author of This Can Never Not Be Real

'Horrifyingly good fun!' - Kathryn Foxfield, author of Good Girls Die First


Trigger warnings: this book has strong elements of horror; in particular, there is some gore (relating to blood and eyes), death of 2 parents, gaslighting, drowning, fatal car crash, and several deaths/dead bodies on-page.


Harrow Lake

BOOKS

Wicked Little Deeds / Burden Falls

     

Mason and Noah exist in different worlds, but their lives are about to collide.

Mason has a habit of getting into trouble. He's been kicked out of every place he's ever lived in. Moving to the cult-like community of Alteria is definitely a last resort, even if it's better than braving the wastelands outside. But following their strict rules is a hundred times harder when Mason meets Eden, who has a wicked streak to match his own. Caught with contraband, Eden is forced into a programme to purge her bad behaviour. But Mason has seen what happens to people who get purged, and knows he will lose Eden if he can’t help her find a way out.

Out in the wastelands, Noah has no memory of what happened before he was abandoned in a war zone. All he wants is to know who he is, and if he can trust the strangers who rescued him from the rubble.

With lies surrounding them on all sides, Mason and Noah must piece together the truth if they want to escape. Failure is not an option when it means being purged from existence.


Reviews: 


"PURGE is a fast-paced, intricate novel through which technology and invention run like pulsing veins - Ellis deals easily with challenging, adult themes." — Martin Stewart, author of Riverkeep


"Smart, dark, gritty ... with a deeply compelling narrative voice" — Stephanie Burgis, author of A Most Improper Magick and Masks and Shadows


Trigger warnings: drug abuse; implied sexual threat; physical violence; claustrophobic situations; death of a parent.


Buy from:


Amazon UK

Book Depository

Guardian Bookshop

Waterstones


Add PURGE to your Goodreads list here.

Kyle Henry has a new name, a new school, and a new life. A year has passed since his serial killer father’s execution, and it finally looks like he has a chance to escape the stigma and fear that haunts him. 

Until he recognizes the girl sitting in the back row in homeroom.

Naomi Steadman is immediately intrigued by Kyle, but she doesn’t know he is the son of the man who murdered her mother. What she does know is she and Kyle have a connection—and a spark that Kyle continues to back away from.

Pretty soon, the death count on campus starts to rise. Someone is set on finishing what the Bonebreaker started, and reliving the horrors of their past may be the only thing that can stop the spree.

Told in alternating viewpoints, Kat Ellis’s tale of mystery and horror is full of broken bonds and new beginnings.


Reviews:


"Breaker ticks my boxes - strong characterisation, propulsive storytelling and a blood-chilling serial killer mystery. Glorious." — C.J. Skuse, Author of Sweetpea


"Spine-chilling and splendidly gory, with a genre-perfect stormy night denouement."—Kirkus Reviews

"Packed full of suspense, red herrings, and creepy taxidermy, this is an intriguing murder mystery and a compelling look at the ties that bind."—Booklist

"Fans of YA thrillers will be hooked from the first page. . . . A standout thriller with a splash of romance."—School Library Journal


Breaker is available now, published by Running Press Teen. Click here to view the book trailer. 


Trigger warnings: drug use; death and dead bodies; physical violence.

​​​When Sky falls from Blackfin Pier and drowns on her sixteenth birthday, the whole town goes into mourning - until she shows up three months later like nothing happened. 


Unravelling the mystery of those missing months takes Sky to the burned-out circus in the woods, where whispers of murder and kidnapping begin to reveal the town’s secrets. But Sky’s not the only one digging up the past – the old mime from the circus knows what happened to her, and he has more than one reason for keeping quiet about it. 


Reviews


“With convincing logic and a thrilling pace, Ellis spins out a vivid and eloquent tale in which the borders between past and present, experience and memory, and even life and death are porous. Each smart and well-rounded character, even the enigmatic adults, contributes cleverly to Ellis’ purposeful plot. Hand this well-wrought mystery to fans of Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series and E. Lockhart’s rich writing.” —Booklist


"Fans of Lisa McMann and Gail Giles will welcome this debut thriller that immediately grabs readers with an intriguing premise." —Kirkus Reviews


“The book is so fast paced and engaging that readers will have a hard time putting it down. Fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys trilogy will enjoy this great tale.” —VOYA


“This page-turner is sure to keep teens who love spooky sleuth novels up well into the night.” —School Library Journal


BLACKFIN SKY is available now. Published in the UK by Firefly Press, and in the US by Running Press Teen. Click here to view the book trailer. 


Trigger warnings: death and dead bodies; claustrophobic situations.